Along the freight house loading dock, visitors can enter a New York Central EMD E8 diesel-electric locomotive, No. 4085. This was an express passenger locomotive; built in August of 1953, it is one of seven such New York Central locomotives that survive today (out of sixty such locomotives built for the company). It is currently painted in the New York Central’s famous “Lightning Stripe” livery. It passed through the hands of Penn Central and was acquired for commuter train service by New Jersey Transit in the 1970s. It was purchased for the Museum in 1987.
Once outside, visitors can view the largest and latest surviving piece of New York Central steam locomotive technology, a dual-service (passenger & freight) 4-8-2 L-3a Mohawk, No. 3001. 3001 was built by the American Locomotive Company of Schenectady, N.Y. in 1940 and delivered to the New York Central for its first assignment in Elkhart that October. After retirement in 1957, 3001 was on display in a city park in Dallas, Tx., before its acquisition by the Lakeshore Historical Foundation and return to Elkhart in 1984.
Also on display is a GG1 electric locomotive from the Pennsylvania Railroad, No. 4882, built for operations from Washington, D.C. to New York in February 1939. It passed to Penn Central in 1968 in the merger with the New York Central, then to New Jersey Transit in the 1970s. It became the last GG1 locomotive to run under its own power on October 29, 1983, and was purchased from New Jersey Transit in 1987. Today, it is the only one of the sixteen surviving GG1 locomotives to wear the black Penn Central livery.